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PURPOSE

In the 2010 Legislative Session, the Legislature requested the Sentencing Guidelines
Commission (SGC) to:

“...survey the practices of other states relating to offenders who violate any
conditions of their community custody. In conducting the survey, the sentencing
guidelines commission shall perform a review of the research studies to determine if a
mandatory minimum confinement policy is an evidence-based practice, investigate the
implementation of such a policy in other states and estimate the fiscal impacts of
implementing such a policy in Washington State.”

The Sentencing Guidelines Commission respectfully submits the following report in
response to the above directive.

VIOLATORS IN WASHINGTON

Community custody violators have been a growing issue for many states and
Washington is no exception. According to the Department of Correction’s (DOC) facility report,
a community custody violator is an offender who does not comply with the terms of a
community sentence and receives a violation which may result in a confinement sanction.
There are two types of violations, technical violations and non-technical violations. Technical
violations are violations of supervision conditions that are not reflective of new criminal
behavior, such as failing to report, non-participation in treatment or using a controlled
substance. Non-technical violations are acts or offenses committed by the offender that are
representative of new crimes. In FY10, the most frequent technical violations were for failing to
report, using a controlled substance and not abiding by alcohol/controlled substance
monitoring. While about 65 percent of offenders on community custody come from jail, nearly
60 percent of violation hearings in FY10 were for offenders who entered community custody
from prison.

When an offender violates a condition of supervision, the non-compliant behavior can
be addressed through a violation hearing. Hearings can occur while the offender is in
confinement or outside of a confinement setting. Violation hearings occur in confinement as a
result of the offender being detained on reasonable suspicion, or arrested as a result of
issuance of a Secretary’s Warrant. If the offender is under the jurisdiction of the court or the
Indeterminate Sentence Review Board, a warrant is requested from the appropriate authority.
If the offender is detained or arrested via the Secretary’s Warrant, DOC shall hold the violation
hearing in confinement within 5 working days, but no less than 24 hours, after service of the
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notice of allegations, hearing and rights, and waiver form?. If the offender is detained without a
warrant, a probable cause determination will be made within three working days after the
initial detention, adding more time between the initial detention and a hearing date. Offenders
generally spend that pre-hearing detainment in jail where DOC contracts with the counties for
confinement space. Contracted utilization rate and cost is negotiated periodically. Post-
hearing confinement sanctions may be spent in county or state facilities. If the offender is not
detained or arrested, then DOC shall hold the non-confinement violation hearing within 15
working days, but no less than 24 hours, after service of the notice of allegations, hearing and
rights, and waiver form.

Data from DOC shows that since 2004, community custody violators admitted to
confinement in jails or DOC facilities have contributed to over half of all prison admissions. As
of 2007, they have remained steady around 71 percent. Over the past four years, an average of
30 percent of total violation hearings resulted in credit for time served pre-hearing. The
number of days of credit for time served averaged 14, while the post-hearing sanction days
averaged 29. Therefore, offenders who received a confinement sanction averaged a total of 43
days.

DOC spent $38.6 million in FY10 for violator beds. They have allocated $39.2 million for
FY11, or approximately 4.4 percent of their total budget for that year".

SURVEY OF THE STATES

A survey was submitted to probation and parole agency executives of each state. The
survey inquired about the process for violation notification, the use of graduated sanctions and
violation confinement grid, issues the state may have experienced that were both
barriers/contributions to swift violation adjudication and whether mandatory minimum
sanctions were applied. A total of 11 sates responded. Their individual responses are included
in the appendix.

Of the 11 respondents, 10 had a policy for graduated sanctions but all 11 utilized
graduated sanctions. Only 3 had a policy for and utilized a violation confinement grid. Formal
violation notification was required by 9 states and the time frame for notification ranged from 0
to 50 days. When asked what their state’s actual time line for notification was, the answers
ranged from as soon as possible to 3 days.

Two of the states reported issuing mandatory minimum confinement terms for guilty
violation findings, however, neither were mandatory. These two states also reported that their
use of minimum confinement had not been researched. The mandatory minimum terms
ranged from 30 days to 12 months and were applied to revocation cases only.

The respondents were asked if their agency had an alternative policy/process for dealing
with felony violators. Eight of the 11 responded that they did. The alternatives mentioned are
commonly known violator alternative practices: graduated or intermediate sanctions, prison
sentencing alternatives and violator centers.

2 per WAC 137-104-050
% Susan Lucas (personal communication, December 1, 2010). The FY11 allocation amount may change due to budget
constraints.
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Barriers to swift adjudication most frequently mentioned were scheduling issues
(courts, attorneys, hearing officers) and limited resources to deal with the volume of violation
reports. Contributions to swift adjudication were more varied. Participation from the jails,
allowing more responses to be available at the community corrections officer level and
enforcing time limits were mentioned more than once. Other contributions included the
offender being able to waive the violation hearing and admit guilt and the court giving priority
to violation hearings.

LITERATURE REVIEW

A search of violator literature resulted in zero studies on mandatory minimums.
Contacts to the Vera Institute of Justice, The Pew Charitable Trusts and the Washington State
Institute for Public Policy (WSIPP) also resulted in no known studies. Jake Horowitz of The Pew
Charitable Trusts responded that “. . . we see states moving, in general terms, away from
mandatory minimum technical violator sanctions. More common are ceilings (rather than
floors). The innovative programs that do use incarcerative sanctions generally impose very
short jail stays, rather than lengthy prison terms’®. Elizabeth Drake from WSIPP was also not
familiar with any such studies but offered a study that showed that of the three elements of
deterrence (severity, certainty and swiftness), certainty of a sanction plays a bigger role in
deterrence than severity of a sanction”.

The literature did reveal a few programs that have indicated success with violations,
although it must be noted that they are still being researched and replicated. The first is the
Hawaii’s Opportunity Probation with Enforcement (HOPE) program. In general, the program
randomly tests participants for drug use. Every missed appointment or positive drug test
results in an immediate jail sanction. The sanction starts small, around 2 days, and increases
with each subsequent violation. When the sanction is over, the offender rejoins the program.
A study on HOPE showed a decline in positive drug tests and missed appointments®. The rate of
positive drug tests fell 93 percent for HOPE participants six months after starting the program
while the comparison group only fell by 14 percent. Likewise, the rate of missed appointments
dropped by 93 percent for HOPE participants six months after starting the program while the
comparison group showed no significant improvement.

Another program that has exhibited success with violators is the 24/7 Sobriety Project in
South Dakota. This program targets people who are repeat DUl offenders and requires them to
test for alcohol/drug twice per day; once in the morning and once in the evening. The 24/7
Sobriety Project is not meant as a treatment alternative but as a way to reduce the number of
people driving intoxicated. If participants test positive, they are taken to jail immediately for 24
hours; missed appointments result in an arrest warrant. South Dakota’s Attorney General’s

4 Jake Horowitz (personal communication, November 17, 2010).

5 Durlauf, S.N. and Nagin, D.S. (2010). The deterrent effect of imprisonment. [On-line]. Available:
http://economics.uchicago.edu/pdf/durlauf 060710.pdf.

® Hawken, A. and Kleiman, M. (2009). Managing drug involved probationers with swift and certain sanctions: evaluating
Hawaii’s HOPE. Sponsored by National Institute of Justice, US Dept of Justice. Doc No. NCJ 229023. [On-line]. Available:
http://www.ncjrs.gov/App/Publications/abstract.aspx?1D=251050
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webpage indicates that of those testing twice per day, upwards of 99.3 percent of the tests
were successfully passed’.

Oregon experienced success with their Drug Reduction of Probationers (DROP) program.
Each positive urinalysis resulted in an immediate jail sanction for program participants.
Comparisons were made as one county used graduated sanction days while another county
used a constant number of sanction days. Both counties showed similar positive results despite
the difference in penalty length. Revocations for technical violations decreased by
approximately 30 percent for both probation and parole participants8 in the first 12 months of
the program. Oregon officials believe that swift and certain responses were much more
effective than severity in reducing drug use in probationers.

All three of these programs have similar elements that are believed to have contributed
to their success; immediacy of action to the violation (swiftness), certainty of an action to a
violation and short sanction confinement lengths. The meta-analysis on deterrence by Durlauf
and Nagin (2010) concluded that there is less evidence to support use of severity but
substantial evidence to support use of certainty.

In the field of psychology, it is well known that positive and negative reinforcements (i.e.
rewards) have a greater impact on changing behavior than punishment does; punishment
shows us what not to do while rewards show us what is acceptable to do. The HOPE program
doesn’t consider rewards as an element of the program, but because the frequency of testing
for offenders who have been compliant is reduced, rewards are being utilized. In a 2003 report
submitted by Missouri’s Probation and Parole Violation Process Examination Team, with initial
guidance from the National Institute of Criminology, included “reward offender success” as one
of the tasks that would assist in achieving the goals for their violation process’. The Pew
Charitable Trusts also reported positive reinforcements as one of the elements of a strategic
approach in dealing with violators™.

IMPLEMENTATION

During the 2010 Legislative Session, House Bill 2626 proposed adding a mandatory 48-
hours confinement for each violation. Since in-custody violators already average 14 days of
confinement pre-hearing, the mandatory confinement would likely impact violations that have
been addressed via stipulated agreements, negotiated sanctions and verbal agreements*. The
fiscal note resulted in a cost of several million dollars the first year.

Studies indicate that certainty of sanctions for every violation and swift adjudication of
those sanctions have greater impact. Accordingly, mandatory minimum sanctions without
certainty and swiftness will likely have little impact. Programs containing, at minimum, these
two elements have shown potential reductions in violating behaviors. The programs discussed

7 As reported on South Dakota Attorney General’s website: http://apps.sd.gov/ata/dui247/247stats.htm

8 Taylor, S. and Martin, G. (2006). State and local agencies partner to manage violations of supervision in oregon. OR Dept of
Corrections: Salem, OR. [Online]. Available: http://nicic.gov/Downloads/PDF/Library/period305.pdf.

® Tom Hodges (personal communication, September 10, 2010).

10 The Pew Center on the States. (2007, November). When offenders break the rules: smart responses to parole and probation
violations (Public Safety Policy Brief No. 3). Washington, DC: Author.

" House Bill 2626 fiscal note dated January 21, 2010. [Online]. Available:
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/billinfo/summary.aspx?bill=2626&year=2010.
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in this report, DROP, HOPE and 24/7, dealt with offenders who repeatedly violated the law or
their community custody conditions.

To employ certainty and swiftness to Washington’s violation process, many procedures
would need to be changed and partnerships created. For example, DOC would need to
immediately confine violators, either by expediting violation hearings or by gaining the
authority to sanction an offender to short terms of confinement without a hearing. The HOPE
project dealt with concerns about the change in due process by holding a warning hearing
where the program process is explained to incoming participantslz. Partnerships with local
agencies would be needed to apply the swiftness portion to offenders who have bench
warrants against them. All three of the programs discussed here have working state/local
partnerships.

This Fall, the City of Seattle offered to collaborate with DOC in a pilot project similar to
that of HOPE project®®. They estimate that the pilot can be implemented with little additional
costs to the City of Seattle or to DOC.

While no evidence was found that showed mandatory minimum confinement was
evidence-based, research has shed light on to other promising elements such as certainty and
swiftness. Use of mandatory minimums without these elements would likely foster little
impact, other than to cost the state millions of dollars. As recommended by those who studied
the HOPE project, starting out small may be the key to growing a successful program. The
collaboration between the City of Seattle and DOC appears to be a good place to start.

12 Kiyabu, R., Steinberg, J. and Yoshida, M. (2010). Hawaii’s opportunity probation with enforcement (HOPE): an
implementation analysis. Manoa, HI: University of Hawaii, Public Administration Program.
¥ Mayor Michael McGinn, Chief John Diaz and Councilmember Tim Burgess (personal communication, September 15, 2010).
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Survey Questions Related to Other States’ Practices
Relating to Community Violators

Name: Mark Smith Agency: DPS/Parole and Probation
Title: Lieutenant State: Nevada

1. My agency is responsible for: Felony Probation  Parole Both

2. Sanction authority over felony probation violators belongs to:

State Other

w

. Sanction authority over parole violators belongs to:

State Courts Parole Board Other

4. My state has a policy to utilize the following for felony violators:
a. Graduated sanctions No
b. A violation confinement grid Yes

5. My state utilizes the following for felony violators:
a. Graduated sanctions &5 No
b. A violation confinement grid Yes

6. Formal notification of the violation to the offender required &5 No

a. The time frame for required notification of the violation is:
Report written within 3 days, Served to offender within 10 days, to court within 2 days
of service or preliminary hearing

7. My state’s timeline for notifying felony offenders of a violation hearing is: (if there is no set
timeline, please respond with ‘NA’)

hey have 5 days to prepare for a preliminary hearing before appearing in court, must have

that hearing within 15 days of arrest. Court notified of custody status 2 days after that|

8. The timeline for notifying felony offenders of a violation hearing is set by:

Agency Policy| Parole Board Court

Local Statute Other There is no timeline

9. The average length of time from the occurrence of the violation to adjudication of the
violation is:

2-4 weeks depending on jurisdiction across the state

10. Items experienced by my state that were barriers to swift adjudication of the violation are:
Reports delayed for corrections. Reports not routed correctly. Attorneys not available fo
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11. Iltems experienced by my state that contributed to swift adjudication of the violation are:
ails actively involved in process to get offenders to court, tracking process set up in offices
to follow offenders in process.

12. When a felony offender is found guilty of a violation, a minimum term of confinement is
issued. =5 No
a. The length of the minimum confinement term is:
Based on original sentence if probation revoked. If jail time is made a condition of
probation in lieu of revocation, then average is 30 days.
b. The minimum confinement term is mandatory: Yes m
c. Who is eligible to receive the minimum confinement term?

Any offender may receive a sanction of jail time in lieu of revocation.
d. Has a validation study been conducted on the impact of your agency’s minimum
confinement term process/policy? Yes

13. Felony offenders held in confinement prior to the violation hearing are given
credit toward their sanction for time served. |{z5 No Offenders are not confined
prior to violation hearing

14. Does your agency have an alternative process/policy for dealing with felony violators? (This

may include pilot projects or small-scale programs for specific offender/offense types.)
No

15. Please provide any comments you may have in regard to your state’s experience in dealing
with felony violation populations:

We have moved to a graduated sanction policy to address offenders negative behavior.
Only the courts though can impose a sanction of incarceration resulting from a violation.
Graduated sanctions work as the Division is able to exhaust all possible sanctions and
opportunities before taking an offender back to court for violation. Thus, when an offende
finally reaches court for violation, they usually are revoked and thus expend limited court
time with repeated trips to the judge.
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Survey Questions Related to Other States’ Practices
Relating to Community Violators

Name: Pam Bunke Agency: Dept of Corrections
Title: Administrator State: Montana
1. My agency is responsible for: Felony Probation  Parole Both

2. Sanction authority over felony probation violators belongs to:
State Other

3. Sanction authority over parole violators belongs to:

State Courts Parole Board Other

4. My state has a policy to utilize the following for felony violators:

a. Graduated sanctions No
b. A violation confinement grid Yes

5. My state utilizes the following for felony violators:
a. Graduated sanctions Yes No
b. A violation confinement grid Yes

6. Formal notification of the violation to the offender required No
a. The time frame for required notification of the violation is:

7. My state’s timeline for notifying felony offenders of a violation hearing is: (if there is no set
timeline, please respond with ‘NA’)?

8. The timeline for notifying felony offenders of a violation hearing is set by:

Agency Policy| State Statute Parole Board Court
Local Statute Other There is no timeline (NA)

9. The average length of time from the occurrence of the violation to adjudication of the

violation is: [EVEE

10. Items experienced by my state that were barriers to swift adjudication of the violation are:

Scheduling problems, too many hearings and not enough hearing officers.

11. Iltems experienced by my state that contributed to swift adjudication of the violation

are: [\
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12. When a felony offender is found guilty of a violation, a minimum term of confinement is
issued.  Yes m
a. The length of the minimum confinement term is:
b. The minimum confinement term is mandatory: Yes No
c. Who is eligible to receive the minimum confinement term?
d. Has a validation study been conducted on the impact of your agency’s minimum
confinement term process/policy? Yes No

13. Felony offenders held in confinement prior to the violation hearing are they given
credit for time served toward their sanction. {5 No Offenders are not confined
prior to violation hearing

14. Does your agency have an alternative process/policy for dealing with felony violators? (This
may include pilot projects or small-scale programs for specific offender/offense types.)
No

15. Please provide any comments you may have in regard to your state’s experience in dealing
with felony violation populations:

\We have a variety of alternatives and allow the hearing officer to use their discretion in
determining the most appropriate sanction.
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Survey Questions Related to Other States’ Practices
Relating to Community Violators

Name: Leslie (Barney) Tomanek Agency: North Dakota Parole & Probation
Title: Director State: North Dakota
1. My agency is responsible for: Felony Probation  Parole Both

2. Sanction authority over felony probation violators belongs to:
State Other

3. Sanction authority over parole violators belongs to:

State Courts Parole Board Other

4. My state has a policy to utilize the following for felony violators:

a. Graduated sanctions Yes
b. A violation confinement grid Yes
5. My state utilizes the following for felony violators:
a. Graduated sanctions &5 No
b. A violation confinement grid Yes

6. Formal notification of the violation to the offender required No
a. The time frame for required notification of the violation is:
Prior to the filing of any legal action and revocation proceeding|

7. My state’s timeline for notifying felony offenders of a violation hearing is: (if there is no set
timeline, please respond with ‘NA’)?

8. The timeline for notifying felony offenders of a violation hearing is set by:
Agency Policy State Statute Parole Board Court

Local Statute Other here is no timeline (NA)

9. The average length of time from the occurrence of the violation to adjudication of the

violation is: ZSIGENA

10. Items experienced by my state that were barriers to swift adjudication of the violation are:

Busy court schedules|

11. Items experienced by my state that contributed to swift adjudication of the violation are:.

Cost of housing offenders in jail pending hearing
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12. When a felony offender is found guilty of a violation, a minimum term of confinement is
issued.  Yes m
a. The length of the minimum confinement term is:
b. The minimum confinement term is mandatory: Yes No
c. Who is eligible to receive the minimum confinement term?
d. Has a validation study been conducted on the impact of your agency’s minimum
confinement term process/policy? Yes No

13. Felony offenders held in confinement prior to the violation hearing are they given
credit for time served toward their sanction. {5 No Offenders are not confined
prior to violation hearing

14. Does your agency have an alternative process/policy for dealing with felony violators? (This
may include pilot projects or small-scale programs for specific offender/offense types.)
No

15. Please provide any comments you may have in regard to your state’s experience in dealing
with felony violation populations:
We have a manual that deals with Managing Non-Compliant Behavior. It is a guideline, and
not a policy document. We make every effort to screen violators and attempt community

sanctions when possible. When staff are wanting to file Petitions to Revoke they must be
screened and approved by their supervisor,
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Survey Questions Related to Other States’ Practices
Relating to Community Violators

Name: Shari Britton Agency: Dept of Corrections
Title: Bureau Chief State: Florida
Probation and Parole Field Services

[EEN

. My agency is responsible for: Felony Probation  Parole Both

N

. Sanction authority over felony probation violators belongs to:
State Other

w

. Sanction authority over parole violators belongs to:

State Courts Parole Board Other

4. My state has a policy to utilize the following for felony violators:
a. Graduated sanctions Yes| No
b. A violation confinement grid Yes

5. My state utilizes the following for felony violators:

a. Graduated sanctions No
b. A violation confinement grid Yes m

6. Formal notification of the violation to the offender required Yes m
a. The time frame for required notification of the violation is: m

7. My state’s timeline for notifying felony offenders of a violation hearing is: (if there is no set
timeline, please respond with ‘NA’)?

8. The timeline for notifying felony offenders of a violation hearing is set by:
Agency Policy State Statute Parole Board Court

Local Statute Other here is no timeline (NA)

9. The average length of time from the occurrence of the violation to adjudication of the
violation is:

Varies - Courts with "Rocket Dockets" where VOP's are placed a special docket are heard
within a week or two of the violation - others may be passed for months, especially if there
is a new charge and the VOP is held up pending disposition on the new charge

10. Items experienced by my state that were barriers to swift adjudication of the violation are:
Extremely busy dockets; reductions in staffing with state attorney or public defender's
offices resulting in limited resources to handle the hearings in a timely, efficient manne
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11. Iltems experienced by my state that contributed to swift adjudication of the violation are:.
Section 948.06, Florida Statute authorizes the court to allow probation officers to utilize
"Technical Violation Notification" letters to report certain specified technical violations in
lieu of requesting a warrant and hearing. Another method authorized by statute is the use
of "Notice to Appear" hearings in lieu of requesting warrants. These are scheduled by the

probation officer with the clerk for VOP hearings when the offender can be relied upon to
show up for court for disposition of a violation. Depending on the area in the state, these
can sometimes be scheduled within the month to resolve violations quickly.

12. When a felony offender is found guilty of a violation, a minimum term of confinement is
issued. Yes
a. The length of the minimum confinement term is:
b. The minimum confinement term is mandatory: Yes No
c. Who is eligible to receive the minimum confinement term?
d. Has a validation study been conducted on the impact of your agency’s minimum
confinement term process/policy? Yes No

13. Felony offenders held in confinement prior to the violation hearing are they given credit for
time served toward their sanction. Yes| No Offenders are not confined
prior to violation hearing

14. Does your agency have an alternative process/policy for dealing with felony violators? (This
may include pilot projects or small-scale programs for specific offender/offense types.)
No

15. Please provide any comments you may have in regard to your state’s experience in dealing
with felony violation populations:
In the past few years, Florida has passed legislation to address violations and prison
diversions. I've already discussed s. 948.06, F.S. regarding hearing notices and technical
violation notification letters. In addition, in 2009, a law was passed creating prison
diversion programs (s. 921.00241, F.S) which authorizes a court to divert certain offenders
meeting specified criteria from a prison sentence to a non-state prison sanction, including a
term of supervision with mandatory participation in a prison diversion program if such a
program is funded in that county of sentence. The program may require residential or non-

residential treatment, day reporting requirements, employment, community service, etc.
Also in 2009, another sentencing alternative was created in s. 397.334, F.S. for non-violent|
felony offenders who have violated probation for a positive urinalysis. This program, called
Post Adjudicatory Treatment Based Drug Court Program, is being piloted in a few counties.
Operationally, in the past couple of years, violation procedure policies and training have
emphasized recommending graduated sanctions as alternative sentences to prison when
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Survey Questions Related to Other States’ Practices
Relating to Community Violators

Name: Cynthia S. Dillard Agency: Alabama Board of Pardons and Paroles
Title: Executive Director State: Alabama
1. My agency is responsible for: Felony Probation  Parole Both

2. Sanction authority over felony probation violators belongs to:
State Other

3. Sanction authority over parole violators belongs to:

State Courts Parole Board Other

4. My state has a policy to utilize the following for felony violators:

a. Graduated sanctions No
b. A violation confinement grid Yes

5. My state utilizes the following for felony violators:
a. Graduated sanctions &5 No
b. A violation confinement grid Yes

6. Formal notification of the violation to the offender required No
a. The time frame for required notification of the violation is:

For parolees it is 48 hours. There is none for probationers.

7. My state’s timeline for notifying felony offenders of a violation hearing is: (if there is no set
timeline, please respond with ‘NA’)?

8. The timeline for notifying felony offenders of a violation hearing is set by:

Agency Policy State Statute Parole Board Court
Local Statute Other There is no timeline (NA)

9. The average length of time from the occurrence of the violation to adjudication of the

violation is: ZSIGENA

10. Items experienced by my state that were barriers to swift adjudication of the violation are:
Absconders that are arrested out of state & inmates that are transferred to the state
penitentiary before they have a parole court hearing.

11. Items experienced by my state that contributed to swift adjudication of the violation are:.

Offender's waiver of hearing and admission of guilt.
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12. When a felony offender is found guilty of a violation, a minimum term of confinement is
issued.  Yes m
a. The length of the minimum confinement term is:
b. The minimum confinement term is mandatory: Yes No
c. Who is eligible to receive the minimum confinement term?
d. Has a validation study been conducted on the impact of your agency’s minimum
confinement term process/policy? Yes No

13. Felony offenders held in confinement prior to the violation hearing are they given credit for
time served toward their sanction. 5 No Offenders are not confined
prior to violation hearing

14. Does your agency have an alternative process/policy for dealing with felony violators? (This
may include pilot projects or small-scale programs for specific offender/offense types.)
No

15. Please provide any comments you may have in regard to your state’s experience in dealing
with felony violation populations:
Our agency operates a Transition Center where technical and misdemeanor offenders can
be set for a 6 month program. If successful, they will be reinstated. The DOC and Parole

Board have worked together to institute a "Restart Program" wherein a parole technical
violator can complete a 60 day program in DOC custody, with reinstatement after
successful completion.
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Survey Questions Related to Other States’ Practices
Relating to Community Violators

Name: Tim Carman Agency: Kentucky Probation and Parole
Title: Director State: Kentucky
1. My agency is responsible for: Felony Probation  Parole Both

2. Sanction authority over felony probation violators belongs to:

State Other
3. Sanction authority over parole violators belongs to:
Courts Parole Board Other
4. My state has a policy to utilize the following for felony violators:
a. Graduated sanctions No
b. A violation confinement grid Yes

5. My state utilizes the following for felony violators:

a. Graduated sanctions Yes No
b. A violation confinement grid Yes
6. Formal notification of the violation to the offender required No

a. The time frame for required notification of the violation is:

7. My state’s timeline for notifying felony offenders of a violation hearing is: (if there is no set
timeline, please respond with ‘NA’)?

8. The timeline for notifying felony offenders of a violation hearing is set by:

Agency Policy| State Statute Parole Board Court
Local Statute Other There is no timeline (NA)

9. The average length of time from the occurrence of the violation to adjudication of the

violation is: FH0GENA

10. Items experienced by my state that were barriers to swift adjudication of the violation are:
Logistics - Admin Law Judge Schedule]

11. Items experienced by my state that contributed to swift adjudication of the violation are:.

Moving from snail mail to scanning capabilities.
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12. When a felony offender is found guilty of a violation, a minimum term of confinement is
issued.  Yes m
a. The length of the minimum confinement term is:
b. The minimum confinement term is mandatory: Yes No
c. Who is eligible to receive the minimum confinement term?
d. Has a validation study been conducted on the impact of your agency’s minimum
confinement term process/policy? Yes No

13. Felony offenders held in confinement prior to the violation hearing are they given credit for
time served toward their sanction. 5 No Offenders are not confined
prior to violation hearing

14. Does your agency have an alternative process/policy for dealing with felony violators? (This
may include pilot projects or small-scale programs for specific offender/offense types.)
Yes

15. Please provide any comments you may have in regard to your state’s experience in dealing
with felony violation populations:
Felony probationers are completely under the auspices of the local courts. The Courts
sometimes utilize sanctions and alternatives such as Drug Courts. The Parole population
is completely under the executive branch - parole board. Intermediate sanctions are

considered - to include warnings, increased levels of supervision, home incarcerations,
brief periods of jail terms, half-way back programs and treatment options - before we
move to revocation.
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Survey Questions Related to Other States’ Practices
Relating to Community Violators

Name: Tom Hodges Agency: Missouri Board of Probation and Parole
Title: Chief State Supervisor State: Missouri

1. My agency is responsible for: Felony Probation  Parole Both

2. Sanction authority over felony probation violators belongs to:

State Courts Other - The agency (State) has authority to impose|
some sanctions in addition to what the

Court can assign.

w

. Sanction authority over parole violators belongs to:

State Courts Parole Board

Other - The agency (State) has authority to impose some sanctions in addition to
what the Board can assign.

4. My state has a policy to utilize the following for felony violators:
a. Graduated sanctions &5 No
b. A violation confinement grid s5  No

5. My state utilizes the following for felony violators:
a. Graduated sanctions Yes| No
b. A violation confinement grid Yes No

6. Formal notification of the violation to the offender required No
a. The time frame for required notification of the violation is:

Less than 10 days for major violations and up to 30 days for lower tier violations.

7. My state’s timeline for notifying felony offenders of a violation hearing is: (if there is no set

[t T TN IR =N o e s [e RWii 4 R\ V"W FAS SOON as possible after the hearing is set.

8. The timeline for notifying felony offenders of a violation hearing is set by:
Agency Policy State Statute Parole Board Court
Local Statute Other There is no timeline (NA)

9. The average length of time from the occurrence of the violation to adjudication of the

violation is: FATeICNCENS

10. Items experienced by my state that were barriers to swift adjudication of the violation are:

Availability of the Court when a Violation hearing is required.
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11. Items experienced by my state that contributed to swift adjudication of the violation are:.
he movement of more responses to the officer level.

12. When a felony offender is found guilty of a violation, a minimum term of confinement is
issued.  Yes
a. The length of the minimum confinement term is:
b. The minimum confinement term is mandatory: Yes No
c. Who is eligible to receive the minimum confinement term?
d. Has a validation study been conducted on the impact of your agency’s minimum
confinement term process/policy? Yes No

13. Felony offenders held in confinement prior to the violation hearing are they given credit for
time served toward their sanction. Yes No Offenders are not confined
prior to violation hearing

14. Does your agency have an alternative process/policy for dealing with felony violators? (This
may include pilot projects or small-scale programs for specific offender/offense types.)
No

15. Please provide any comments you may have in regard to your state’s experience in dealing
with felony violation populations:

We try to focus on a timely response to each violation. For lower tier violations, this
response and related sanctions occur at the officer level based on a violator matrix.

Sentencing Guidelines Commission Missouri



Survey Questions Related to Other States’ Practices
Relating to Community Violators

Name: Denise Symdon Agency: Dept of Corrections
Title: DCC Administrator State: Wisconsin
1. My agency is responsible for: Felony Probation  Parole Both
2. Sanction authority over felony probation violators belongs to:
Courts Other
3. Sanction authority over parole violators belongs to:
Courts Parole Board Other
4. My state has a policy to utilize the following for felony violators:
a. Graduated sanctions Yes| No
b. A violation confinement grid s5  No

5. My state utilizes the following for felony violators:
a. Graduated sanctions &5 No
b. A violation confinement grid s5  No

6. Formal notification of the violation to the offender required No

a. The time frame for required notification of the violation is:
If intending to revoke the offender's supervision, 50 days from the date the offender is
placed in custody.

7. My state’s timeline for notifying felony offenders of a violation hearing is: (if there is no set
timeline, please respond with ‘NA’)?
Offender must be served with notice of revocation within 2 working days of the decision to|

8. The timeline for notifying felony offenders of a violation hearing is set by:
Agency Policy State Statute Parole Board Court
Local Statute Other There is no timeline (NA)

9. The average length of time from the occurrence of the violation to adjudication of the
violation is:

About 70 days (but this is an estimate) the final hearing must be held within 50 days of the

date of custody.
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10. Items experienced by my state that were barriers to swift adjudication of the violation are:
1) pending charges, where the defense attorneys request delays to have the charges
resolved, prior to a revocation taking place.
2) delay in getting hearings scheduled at times due to shortages by the Administrative Law|

11. Items experienced by my state that contributed to swift adjudication of the violation are:.
1) setting established timelines and holding staff accountable for those dates.
2) attorneys will file a writ of habeas corpus if DOC is responsible for lengthy delays.
3) having jail liaisons, who are assigned to the jail to take offender statements, serve
offenders with notice of revocation, answer questions of the offenders, etc. It really saves
time for the agent of record having to get into jails.

12. When a felony offender is found guilty of a violation, a minimum term of confinement is

issued. {5 No

a. The length of the minimum confinement term is:

Our operation's manual says 6 months; but we are moving to 12 months and utilizing a jail

term as an intermediate sanction on certain cases.

b. The minimum confinement term is mandatory: Yes m

c. Who is eligible to receive the minimum confinement term?

d. Has a validation study been conducted on the impact of your agency’s minimum
confinement term process/policy? Yes

13. Felony offenders held in confinement prior to the violation hearing are they given credit for
time served toward their sanction. No  Offenders are not confined
prior to violation hearing

14. Does your agency have an alternative process/policy for dealing with felony violators? (This
may include pilot projects or small-scale programs for specific offender/offense types.)
No

15. Please provide any comments you may have in regard to your state’s experience in dealing
with felony violation populations:
Our numbers of felony revocation is high - about 50% of the admissions to our prison are
violators, without a new sentence at the time of admission. We continue to explore ways

to divert felony rule violators from returning to prison on a revocation and are utilizing jail
contract beds as a cheaper alternative. | have our Operations manual guidelines that |
could email you if that would be helpful.

Sentencing Guidelines Commission Wisconsin



Survey Questions Related to Other States’ Practices
Relating to Community Violators

Name: Gary Tullock Agency: Board of Probation and Parole
Title: Director of Field Services State: Tennessee

1. My agency is responsible for: Felony Probation  Parole Both

2. Sanction authority over felony probation violators belongs to:

State Courts
Other - Courts revoke, however, statutorily Probation Officers have authority to|
use sanctions based on a valid risk/needs assessment. Judges can opt out of the
officer sanctions and 25% have done so.

w

. Sanction authority over parole violators belongs to:

State Courts Parole Board
Other - The Board revokes, however, statutorily Probation Officers have
authority to use sanctions based on a valid risk/needs assessment.

4. My state has a policy to utilize the following for felony violators:
a. Graduated sanctions &5 No
b. A violation confinement grid s5  No

5. My state utilizes the following for felony violators:

a. Graduated sanctions W5 No
b. A violation confinement grid Yes No
6. Formal notification of the violation to the offender required Yes m

a. The time frame for required notification of the violation is: m

7. My state’s timeline for notifying felony offenders of a violation hearing is: (if there is no set
timeline, please respond with ‘NA’)? ERW6I S ENE

8. The timeline for notifying felony offenders of a violation hearing is set by:

Agency Policy State Statute Parole Board Court
Local Statute Other There is no timeline (NA)

9. The average length of time from the occurrence of the violation to adjudication of the
violation is:

Unknown. Probation cases really skews this data as some are continues for months. Fo

parole it is about 45-60 days.
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10. Items experienced by my state that were barriers to swift adjudication of the violation are:
Courts allowing continuances with offenders on bond, movement of offenders within the
prison system causing hearings to be reset.

11. Items experienced by my state that contributed to swift adjudication of the violation are:.

Policy guidelines on time limits between discovery of a violation and action by the officer.

12. When a felony offender is found guilty of a violation, a minimum term of confinement is
issued.  Yes
a. The length of the minimum confinement term is:
b. The minimum confinement term is mandatory: Yes No
c. Who is eligible to receive the minimum confinement term?
d. Has a validation study been conducted on the impact of your agency’s minimum
confinement term process/policy? Yes No

13. Felony offenders held in confinement prior to the violation hearing are they given credit for
time served toward their sanction. Yes No Offenders are not confined
prior to violation hearing

14. Does your agency have an alternative process/policy for dealing with felony violators? (This
may include pilot projects or small-scale programs for specific offender/offense types.)
Yes| No

15. Please provide any comments you may have in regard to your state’s experience in dealing
with felony violation populations:

Assuming no new crime, we use a sanction grid calling fo
1) officer intervention that may include sanctions
2) supervisor intervention that may include sanctions
3) an administrative case conference with the offender that may include sanctions|
4) a violation report.
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Survey Questions Related to Other States’ Practices
Relating to Community Violators

Name: Brent Butcher Agency: AP&P
Title: Director State: Utah
1. My agency is responsible for: Felony Probation  Parole Both

2. Sanction authority over felony probation violators belongs to:
State Other

3. Sanction authority over parole violators belongs to:

State Courts Parole Board Other

4. My state has a policy to utilize the following for felony violators:

a. Graduated sanctions No
b. A violation confinement grid Yes

5. My state utilizes the following for felony violators:

a. Graduated sanctions E No
b. A violation confinement grid Yes No
6. Formal notification of the violation to the offender required No

a. The time frame for required notification of the violation is:

7. My state’s timeline for notifying felony offenders of a violation hearing is: (if there is no set
timeline, please respond with ‘NA’)?

8. The timeline for notifying felony offenders of a violation hearing is set by:
Agency Policy State Statute Parole Board Court

Local Statute Other There is no timeline (NA)

9. The average length of time from the occurrence of the violation to adjudication of the
violation is:

10. Items experienced by my state that were barriers to swift adjudication of the violation are:

11. Items experienced by my state that contributed to swift adjudication of the violation are:.
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12. When a felony offender is found guilty of a violation, a minimum term of confinement is
issued. Yes No
a. The length of the minimum confinement term is:
b. The minimum confinement term is mandatory: Yes No
c. Who is eligible to receive the minimum confinement term?
d. Has a validation study been conducted on the impact of your agency’s minimum
confinement term process/policy? Yes No

13. Felony offenders held in confinement prior to the violation hearing are they given credit for
time served toward their sanction. Yes No Offenders are not confined
prior to violation hearing

14. Does your agency have an alternative process/policy for dealing with felony violators? (This
may include pilot projects or small-scale programs for specific offender/offense types.)

Yes No

15. Please provide any comments you may have in regard to your state’s experience in dealing
with felony violation populations:
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Survey Questions Related to Other States’ Practices
Relating to Community Violators

Name: Alan Grinstead Agency: Delaware Probation and Parole
Title: Deputy Bureau Chief State: Delaware
1. My agency is responsible for: Felony Probation  Parole Both

2. Sanction authority over felony probation violators belongs to:
State Other

3. Sanction authority over parole violators belongs to:
State Courts

a. Graduated sanctions
b. A violation confinement grid

5. My state utilizes the following for
a. Graduated sanctions
b. A violation confinement grid

6. Formal notification of i ) equired No

offenders of a violation hearing is set by:
State Statute Parole Board Court
Other There is no timeline (NA)

9. The average leng time from the occurrence of the violation to adjudication of
1 [RVTeIETale] WEH? Weeks from submission of the violation report.

10. Items experienced by my state that were barriers to swift adjudication of the
violation are:
Court workload and volume of violation reports submitted to the Court.

11. Items experienced by my state that contributed to swift adjudication of the violation
are:.

Priority given to violations, the Court schedules the hearings as soon as possible.

Sentencing Guidelines Commission Delaware



12. When a felony offender is found guilty of a violation, a minimum term of
confinement is issued. Yes m
a. The length of the minimum confinement term is:
b. The minimum confinement term is mandatory: Yes No
c. Who is eligible to receive the minimum confinement term?
d. Has a validation study been conducted on the impact of your agency’s minimum
confinement term process/policy? Yes No

13. Felony offenders held in confinement prior to the violati
credit for time served toward their sanction.
confined
to violation hearing

earing are they given
Offenders are not
prior

14. Does your agency have an alternative pro
violators? (This may include pilot projects o
offender/offense types.)

Yes

15. Please provide any comments you
dealing with felony violation popula
Delaware supervises both felony and misdemeanor cases so the answers provided
are applicable to all types of cases.
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